Site synchronization in Drupal can be improved using https://drupal.org/project/features module that allows transferring site settings between two sites. You can transfer types of content, fields, menus, user roles and permissions, and glossaries.
The bane of every front end developer's day is receiving a hastily put together Photoshop file, with unused exploration layers, layers with default names (Layer 157, anyone?) and general lack of organization. The simple process of turning over creative files to developers can turn into a painful endeavor, delaying production and impacting timelines.